Club Announcements

Charlotte FC Forward Enzo Copetti Named to MLS Team of the Matchday


Charlotte FC earned their third-straight win over NYCFC and return to the Sportsplex tomorrow for a home U.S. Open Cup match versus Orlando City

CHARLOTTE, NC (Monday, May 8, 2023) – Charlotte FC Forward Enzo Copetti earned a spot on the MLS Team of the Matchday after his first half brace led the team to a 3-2 victory over visiting New York City FC.

Back at home looking for a bounce-back performance, Head Coach Christian Lattanzio’s side delivered. CLTFC were on the front foot from the beginning and got their reward in the 8th minute when Copetti opened the scoring. Ashley Westwood threaded a well-weighted through ball to McKinze Gaines; Copetti dummied his defender to the front post and Gaines read his movement perfectly, slotting it across the six-yard box for a simple tap in.

NYCFC fought back with an equalizer through Pereira in the 37th minute, but Charlotte FC responded just a minute later to retake the lead. New signing Justin Meram, making his first start for the Club after debuting at DC United last week, whipped in a corner to the front post to find Copetti streaking in. His glancing header found the back of the net to give the Crown the lead at half.

In the second half, CLTFC conceded the equalizer through a 57th minute Rodriguez penalty but regained the lead for good after a Karol Swiderski free kick forced a Ledezma own goal in the 74th minute.

The result moved CLTFC to 12th place in the Eastern Conference, just two points out of a playoff spot. With his two goals against NYCFC, Copetti is Charlotte FC’s leading goal scorer on the season with five goals in all competitions.

For the full MLS Team of the Matchday, please see below:

F: Josef Martínez (MIA), Brian White (VAN), Enzo Copetti (CLT)

M: Cristian Espinoza (SJ), Connor Ronan (COL), Erik Thommy (SKC), Hany Mukhtar (NSH)

D: DeJuan Jones (NE), Damion Lowe (PHI), Aaron Herrera (MTL)

GK: Steve Clark (HOU)

Coach: Luchi Gonzalez (SJ)

Bench: Andre Blake (PHI), Rudy Camacho (MTL), Lalas Abubakar (COL), Alvaro Barreal (CIN), Noel Buck (NE), Owen Wolff (ATX), Luciano Acosta (CIN), Ryan Gauld (VAN), Evander (POR)



The party is back and better than before! Don't miss out on Season 2.