Club Announcements

Charlotte Selected as Host City For 2023 Concacaf Gold Cup


Bank of America Stadium welcomes the region’s premier international soccer tournament for the fourth time

Charlotte, NC (Monday, April 10, 2023) – The Confederation of North, Central America and Caribbean Associated Football (Concacaf) today announced Charlotte, North Carolina has been selected as a host city for the 2023 Concacaf Gold Cup.

The double-header matches will take place in Uptown Charlotte at Bank of America Stadium and be part of the group stage of the tournament.

Charlotte is one of 14 host cities across the country with matches being played in 15 different stadiums.

“We’re excited to welcome back Concacaf and the Gold Cup to Bank of America Stadium later this summer. Charlotte has proven that it is a soccer city and hosting the region’s leading men’s national team competition three years before the 2026 World Cup is an incredible opportunity to showcase our city on a global stage” said Charlotte FC President Joe LaBue. “The presence of a major, international soccer tournament is another example of Tepper Sports and Entertainment being a leader in hosting live events throughout the region. The Carolinas are home to a growing and vibrant community, and we’re thrilled to host four national teams that will undoubtedly represent the diverse cultural backgrounds of our community.”

Charlotte has hosted Concacaf Gold Cup matches in 2011, 2015 and 2019.

2011 Concacaf Gold Cup

Attendance: 46,012 

Costa Rica - 1

El Salvador - 1 

Cuba - 0

Mexico – 5 

2015 Concacaf Gold Cup

Attendance: 55,823 

Cuba – 1 

Guatemala – 0

Mexico – 4

Trinidad and Tobago – 4 

2019 Concacaf Gold Cup

Attendance: 59,283 

Canada – 7 

Cuba – 0 

Martinique – 2

Mexico - 3

Concacaf will announce a complete schedule, including specific match venue assignments, ticketing information, and other details in the days following the official draw scheduled for Friday, April 14, 2023.

2023 Gold Cup Draw

To kick off the 2023 Gold Cup, Concacaf will conduct the competition’s official draw on Friday, April 14, 2023, at SoFi Stadium.

The live in-person event will begin at 12:00 pm PT/local time (3:00 pm ET) and will include the participation of Concacaf President and FIFA Vice President Victor Montagliani, the head coaches of the national teams participating in the 2023 Gold Cup and important guests.

The draw will be available for fans across the region to view on One Soccer (CAN), FS2 (USA), TUDN (USA and MEX), ESPN (Central America and Caribbean), and other regional broadcasters. For other territories, the event will be available on Concacaf GO, Concacaf’s Facebook page, and Concacaf’s YouTube channel (all subject to territory restrictions).

About Tepper Sports & Entertainment

Founded by David A. Tepper, Tepper Sports & Entertainment (TSE) includes the NFL’s Carolina Panthers, MLS’ Charlotte Football Club and Bank of America Stadium in Charlotte, N.C. Serving the Carolinas, TSE is committed to making the greater Charlotte metro area the premier destination for sports and entertainment in the region. Bank of America Stadium hosted 39 events in 2022, nearly tripling the number of events at the stadium in 2017 (14). The wide range of events attracted diverse audiences interested in the NFL, MLS, concerts and college football games. In addition to being a top sports and entertainment venue, Bank of America Stadium is a community asset. The stadium served as an early voting site in 2020 and 2022, and as a mass vaccination site in 2021.

About Gold Cup

The Concacaf Gold Cup is the Confederation’s premier competition for men’s national teams, crowning a champion every two years. Initially involving eight teams, the Gold Cup expanded into a competition that includes a 12-team Preliminary Round and 16-team Group Stage, all which qualify via the Concacaf Nations League. The tournament has been contested on 16 previous occasions. Mexico owns a tournament-record eight titles, followed by the United States with seven and Canada with one. For more information about the Concacaf Gold Cup, click here.

About Concacaf

The Confederation of North, Central America, and Caribbean Association Football (Concacaf) is one of FIFA’s six continental confederations, servicing 41 Member Associations, from Canada in the north to Guyana, Suriname, and French Guiana in the south. Concacaf means football first. Our members are united by a shared vision: Love For Our Game, as well as a unique mission, to develop, promote and manage football throughout the region with integrity, transparency, and passion in order to inspire participation in the game.