For the first time since 1994, the World Cup will be held in North America. The biggest sporting event in the world will be hosted between the United States, Mexico, and Canada. This will be the third time it is held in Mexico, the second time in the U.S., and the very first time for Canada.

Eleven of the chosen cities reside in the US where 60 games will be played, while Canada has two and Mexico has three. The latter two nations will both host 10 games apiece.

Thirteen of the 16 cities selected are home to Major League Soccer markets. For the first time, the event will include 48 nations from six confederations (usually 32 nations).

The full group of North American host cities is listed below.

United States host cities (11)

  • Atlanta - Mercedes-Benz Stadium
  • Boston - Gillette Stadium
  • Dallas - AT&T Stadium
  • Houston - NRG Stadium
  • Kansas City - Arrowhead Stadium
  • Los Angeles - SoFi Stadium
  • Miami - Hard Rock Stadium
  • New York/New Jersey - MetLife Stadium
  • Philadelphia - Lincoln Financial Field
  • San Francisco/Bay Area - Levi's Stadium
  • Seattle - Lumen Field

Canada host cities (2)

  • Toronto - BMO Field
  • Vancouver - BC Place

Mexico host cities (3)

  • Guadalajara - Estadio Akron
  • Mexico City - Estadio Azteca
  • Monterrey - Estadio BBVA


The 16 host cities are separated into three regions to reduce travel.

  • Eastern: Boston, Miami, New York/New Jersey, Philadelphia, Toronto
  • Central: Atlanta, Dallas, Houston, Kansas City, Mexico City, Monterrey
  • Western: Guadalajara, Los Angeles, San Francisco/Bay Area, Seattle, Vancouver

Which cities missed the cut?

  • Canada: Edmonton
  • US: Baltimore/D.C., Cincinnati, Denver, Nashville, Orlando
  • Mexico: N/A